Wholewheat Banana Carrot Muffins

My sister-in-law (at this point, you must be wondering how many sisters-in-law does this woman have! Well, many. Sisters in law are a rich source of friends for a girl, and I seem to have been blessed with a steady supply) – SG’s sister – makes wonderful banana muffins. (Her husband, in turn, dishes out the best homemade pizza ever, which I will duly feature one day.) For a while now, have been meaning to ask SIL for the recipe and I promise I shall. In the meanwhile, let’s settle for an oh-so-healthy version of the muffins.

Wholewheat Banana and Carrot Muffins
Wholewheat Banana and Carrot Muffins

Recipe from Love, Food, Eat – a great go to blog if you are looking for wholesome nutritious but yet delish eats.

Dry Ingredients

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 2 cups grated carrot
  • ½ cup almonds, chopped
  • ¼ cup oats
  • ¼ cup raisins
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1tsp cinnamon powder

Wet Ingredients

  • 2 ripe bananas mashed into a paste
  • ½ cup olive oil*
  • 1/2 cup yogurt (curd)
  • 1 cup brown sugar**

*I was running low on olive oil, so I subbed half of it with ghee.

**I got feedback that it could do with tad bit more sugar – so perhaps a little more sugar or honey next time. Of course, you can do what Ovendurful recommends and add some golden syrup.

  • Mix the wet ingredients in a large bowl
  • Mix the dry ingredients in a small bowl
  • Fold in the dry into the wet in batches
  • Preheat the oven to 170 c. Scoop the batter into a greased muffin.

Choosing the make smaller muffins, I got about 18. If you go for larger scoops, the batter should yield 12. Let me know how many you get.

Oh yes, I added almond flakes to pretty up my second batch.

These make for a wonderful snack on the go. Half of them went into my niece’s school mid-morning snack box this last week.  The only problem with such healthy baking and eating is that, overcome with the self-righteous feeling, I end up binging on stuff I would not have touched other-wise. Well, you win some and lose some.

Leave a Reply

