Dark & White Cupcakes

Met my sister in law and my two extremely cuppycake like nieces after ages. I have about five years of home cooked meals to pay back to my SIL as I lived next door to her when all I knew was to fry an egg. Which is ironical, because she does not eat eggs – so when meeting her after a year, I did have to bake without eggs. Lots of recipe reading later and a mental note to make caramel cashew bars one day – I made these cupcakes as a belated birthday treat for her and something fun for the babies.

 

Dark and White Cupcakes
Dark and White Cupcakes

 

The original recipe from the 100 Best Delicious Chocolate has decadent dark and white icing options. Due to a slight mix up between caster and icing, a race against time (we had dinner reservations!) and my mistaken belief that reducing the sugar will have zero effect on the end results, I ended up with a runny mess instead of icing. I am keeping back that portion of the recipe till I take another more successful shot at it. Instead go ahead, and using any kind of topping/icing/plain Nutella to jazz up the little cupcakes.

RECIPE Makes 20 cupcakes
200 ml water
85 gm butter
85 gm caster sugar
1 tbsp golden syrup
3 tbsp milk
1 tsp vanilla essence
1 tsp baking soda
225 gm flour
2 tbsp cocoa powder

  • Line a muffin tray with cupcake liners
  • Combine water, sugar, butter, golden syrup in a saucepan and heat till the sugar dissolves. Bring to a boil and reduce the heat and simmer for five minutes. Since I was using a vanilla bean instead of essence, I put in half a bean during the simmer stage – which I later discarded.
  • Combine milk and baking soda (and vanilla essence, if using) in a small bowl. Sift together the flour and cocoa powder in a large bowl and add the syrup.  Beat into it the milk mixture till smooth.
  • Spoon into the liners – fill to two thirds. I found it easier to do this step using my trusted icecream scoop.  Bake in a preheated oven (180 c) for 20 minutes till well risen and firm. Mine got done slightly earlier to keep an eye on them after the 15 minute mark. Cool the cupcakes and ice to liking.

Wasn’t that simple?

Leave a Reply

